Smooth

by abookormore

Smooth is today’s one-word prompt, courtesy of whatever angel happens to run The Daily Post.

I thought I’d take this opportunity to think about the particularly smooth characters that glide into literature: the charmers, the ‘irresistibles’.  This was proven quite difficult when I came to the realization that I hardly ever reach for romance.

Ah.

But it was a challenge that I didn’t want to back down from, so I’ve weeded out a few smooth operators nonetheless.

3) Lancelot 

Not exactly a bookish creation I know, but Arthurian elements in literature hold a special place in my heart. I’d read books such as Michael Morpurgo’s ‘Arthur High King of Britain’ from an early age, and after binge watching BBC’s ‘Merlin’ with my sister, it became a solidified love.  When Lancelot swoops onto the scene, as he inevitably does, I feel like we can all understand a bit more why Guinevere was part of one of the most legendary love affairs of history. A knight vying for affection in (arguably) the height of chivalry is probably quite hard to resist. Sorry, Arthur.

2) Ginny Weasley

No-one said this shortlist was just for the blokes in fiction, and no-one whose read the Harry Potter books can deny Ginny’s fiery and flirty allure. During her time at Hogwarts she dated Michael Corner, Dean Thomas, and Harry Potter. Not a shabby list at all, and not many people could scoff at dating and even marrying the chosen one. There’s also this slytherin interaction which I find humorously  illuminating:

Draco Malfoy: “But that Weasley girl! What’s so special about her?”

Pansy Parkinson: “A lot of boys like her. Even you think she’s good-looking, don’t you Blaise, and we all know how hard you are to please!”

She’s an amazing Quidditch player, a master of the bat-bogey hex, AND good looking. It’s almost dizzying.

1 ) Finnick Odair 

Not an overly shocking choice is it? The very Capitol was in love with Finnick, and I can think of many of my own friends who are also rather taken by the trident-wielding victor. He’s barely clothed and described as ‘seductive’ when we first meet him; though for many of us our love for Finnick really came about after his witty charm and dedication was revealed. I’d mention his utter love for Annie, but then I might just start sobbing. So here’s some lightheartedness instead:

“Finnick?” I say, “Maybe some pants?”
He looks down at his legs as if noticing his outfit for the first time. Then he whips off his hospital gown leaving him in just his underwear. “Why? Do you find this” – he strikes a ridiculously provocative pose – “distracting?”

You know, I think I will take that sugar cube.

So that was my list! Not particularly detailed or thought-provoking, but it was fun to write and I hope you enjoyed it.  x

